“Spring Breakers”

sb_mm_02886_rgb-e1362507249182

Alright, so I thought Spring Breakers’ premise was this:

Four girls want to go to the Spring Break sooo baaad but they don’t have enough money. So the three of them robbed a what? An eatery of some sort? So they robbed that place and got the money they needed. They went to the Spring Break—it was on a beach with these random girls jiggling their naked boobs while men are obviously having fun with the scenery. Technically, the first half hour of the film focused on those cokehead parties while showing those girls who jiggle their naked boobs all over again and it was executed in a slow-mo way. Then fast forward to where the four main girls were arrested until a silver-teethed guy bailed on them. The silver-teethed guy was some sort of a million dollar drug lord and he took care of the four girls. He brought them in his house then blah-blah, the fourth girl (Faith played by Selena Gomez) has quit. Fast forward to where Cotty (played by Rachel Korine) decided to quit also after she was hit on her arm. Then fast forward to where Candy (Vanessa Hudgens), Brit (Ashley Benson) and Alien (the silver-teethed guy played by James Franco) were having a threesome in the pool. After that, the three of them decided to attack Alien’s nemesis which killed Alien in the process so Candy and Brit continued to fight (yep, fight. Cause they have guns while wearing neon bikinis).  And they finally left the pace after killing the man they have to. The end.

I’m not sure If I wasn’t able to tell the story accurately and in a way that would entertain you or the premise was just plainly boring. Spring Breakers was yet the most uninteresting and immoral movie I’ve seen. Ever.

The whole movie tackles about sex, drugs, and other immoral stuff that you would actually might not even see in a college frat party. I think it was overreacting—excessive cussing and naked body all throughout. I swear to God that I forced myself to look on a possible positive side of the film but I just can’t. Yes, it could simply be about hedonism, where one must do any thing to achieve pleasure, but there’s more to look into it.

Selena Gomez as Faith. I thought I was watching a fourteen year-old girl gone inappropriately wild with her BFFs. And don’t forget the crying scene where she pushed her—I don’t know if it was real—tears to the limit.

Rachel Korine as Cotty. Kudos to her frontal scene. It takes a lot of courage to do that especially if the movie director was her husband.

Vanessa Hudgens as Candy. The wild former Disney star gone more wild and I thought I heard her say that she would never go naked for a movie but I guess that’s changed since she was completely naked in the threesome scene, and thanks to the pool water, it blurred everything we could see while she’s naked. I cannot compare her acting from Selena’s any further. I still see the Gabriella Montez in her.

Ashley Benson as Brit. I see a pretty little liar there. Her character, Brit, was kind of silent yet wild. But they are all wild anyway. I think she’s done pretty good as her character.

I don’t know what does Spring Breakers have to entice this women play these characters. I don’t think the right way to become a mature actress is to accept roles like this. Acting immorally, cussing and getting naked in a wrong way will never define how mature of an actor they are.

The movie lacked in good script, it was draggy the whole time and it simply doesn’t make sense. It also lacked on the conflict’s resolution. To be honest, I can hardly distinguish its conflict in the first place.

Is this how teenagers act NORMALLY? Or is this how society influences the young generation? Is this an eye opener? Why make emphasis on the bad things if these movie makers could simply film something which can positively contribute to everyone? Some say this is what happens in reality but I doubt it could be this bad. As I said, it was overreacting.

If anything is to be spread to the future generation, it’s not Spring Breakers.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

