“The Paperboy”

Image

I told myself I would never post a review about Zac’s movies cause I highly like him and I might be biased but this one’s too good to be true and I just felt the need to post this. I hope It’s not yet too late, though…

The Paperboy was packed with these veteran and professional actors–Matthew McCaughnahey, John Cusack and Nicole Kidman. Of course Zac Efron is part of the cast as well, directed by Lee Daniels. It was an outstanding line up and as expected, an outstanding performance.

I like watching dark films which is why I guess the movie got my full attention.

I think The Paperboy was very interesting not only because it was a true-to-life story but also there were these exotic twist and turns that you’d probably don’t expect while watching. The story’s premise was clear and so as its conflict and solution. It was very dark in a good sense and honestly, it scared the hell outta me.

Matthew McConaughey as Ward Jansen: I think it was the first time I watched Matthew in a movie and he totally impressed me. You’d get this feeling for realness while watching him. He played his character very well.

Nicole Kidman as Charlotte Bless: I’ve never been so moved on a movie character unlike what I did with Nicole Kidman’s. I gained a lot of respect to her from what she did on The Paperboy. I can’t even put in to words how good of an actress she is and she left me in owe.

John Cusack as Hilary Van Wetter: John Cusack’s performance was unsurprisingly strong and powerful. He’s got a lot of heart in putting himself in his character and it showed here very clearly on The Paperboy. Just like with Nicole Kidman, I was left in owe. If you’re an aspiring actor you would totally wish to star in a movie with him.

Zac Efron as Jack Jansen: This is the first movie I’ve ever seen him as strong as he did here. His character was far from what he did back on his Disney days and the chick flicks he’s done before. It was impressing that he got along well with these type of actors in terms of acting abilities and I can’t wait to see him doing these sort of films in the future–he’s got a potential for it.

The Paperboy was a bad tale yet it’s the kind of movie which will stay in your mind. For movie buffs, I think this one is something to be kept for generations.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

