Random book talk

I’ve been a sucker for novels since I was in senior year in high school – I guess, I can’t really remember when exactly. But anyway, it doesn’t matter. I learned to love reading books especially those written by the master himself, Nicholas Sparks.

image

I have read six of his novels so far and let’s add Dear John as the seventh. I honestly regret that I haven’t been reading much of novels lately because of the craziness and hype in college. I’m fond of reading because every time I finish doing so, it gives me an extraordinary feeling of refreshment. Also, I pick novels that could make me cry. That may sound weird but I prefer it. And since I love to make myself cry over fictional characters, Nicolas Sparks’ is my top choice.

Ever since I’ve read The Notebook, which made me cry howl, I always get the feeling that if I read his other books it wouldn’t disappoint me, and it didn’t. If you’d ask me why I prefer him over other authors out there I’d say it’s because he makes storytelling easy – as if he was only telling you how his day went in a simplest way you would understand it. I also love how he makes the characters real, their images can be so vivid as well as their emotions which gives you a feeling as though you were put in his characters’ situation. Which in the end gives you the compassion for the whole thing. He tells the story in a way that you wouldn’t want to put the book down.

I sometimes feel the urge to flip the page to its end just so I could find out what’s going to happen. I could tell you that happened again while I was reading Dear John. I love how his books gives me a sort of different life. I could recall my professor in college telling us that she could only call ‘something’ a literature if it moved people or gave them wisdom. That’s why I always think that his books are a perfect example of literature.

I tried expanding my knowledge in reading books – I sometimes find myself reading a thriller or a documentary book, but I always end up reading his novels. For this is where I find my comfort and reading them feels like I’m at home.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

