Serious Job

I usually write poems, short stories, book and movie reviews here but I don’t often share what I really do in my real life. I oftentimes express ideas and musings. Then whenever I’m satisfied, I post it here. WordPress has become my outlet of these thoughts, and I find it helpful anyway. Through it, I could easily find a place where I can resort ideas that most people in my age and world don’t find interesting.

So please, let me share to you what I fell in love with, since I was a kid, that is theater acting (or acting in general.)

If you are a generous reader of my blog, you might have probably stumbled on to my home page. I introduced you there how I came to love theater performing. And as I move on to my senior year this AY, I’d like to do a quick recap of what’s happened to my junior college year.

They say junior year is the most excruciating level in college next to senior. I couldn’t say I fully agree on that one yet ’cause I haven’t been in senior level. No comparable reason to answer that one yet. But, I’d say junior year was the hardest, so far. Studying theater arts, though, is a little different and a little bit harder since we are dealing with both numerous stage productions in a month (a month, yes, ’cause that’s the basic case) and study of different literature, other minor subjects that had nothing to do with theater at all, thesis and etc.

Story-telling my whole second semester would be a lot of mountains to hurdle, so I’d just put a bit of caption with each picture below.

10690154_942240972466791_7324033243294994482_n
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY

Last February 21-22, we staged the musical “Qudarat: Hari ng Pulnaggi” (Qudarat: King of Pulanggi) written by our two AB Theater Arts alum, a true-to-life story about the history of Spaniard colonization occurred on the 19th century in Pulanggi (southern region of the Philippines now called Maguindanao, located in Mindanao). It also showcases Muslim tradition (Philippines is not a Muslim country but its most southern part is occupied by Filipino-Muslim citizens).

I played the role of Latipa, Banua’s wife (Banua, a loyal right hand of Qudarat).

10996676_942230455801176_4824442753251498524_n
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY
10996435_942173915806830_3706498380953658121_n
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY

The whole production wasn’t part of our curriculum though. It was simply a hard work of each AB Theater Arts year level in part of the annual celebration of Arts’ Month.

With my father after the first night's show.
With my father after the first night’s show.
With a few friends.
With a few friends.
With our wardrobe manager and co-actor.
With the wardrobe manager, co-actor and my classmate.
The final curtain call.
The final curtain call. XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY

Second to this event was our final exam for the subject Acting for Radio, TV and Film where we produced an indie film entitled “Tuloy Po Kayo”, a suspense short television film written by Mr. Rene O. Villanueva. It may be a shame that I hardly did any help on the whole production but act as a house manager in our show date, but I had fun watching the finished film with the whole class while laughing our ass out. (I know, I said it’s a suspense film but who wouldn’t have so much fun seeing faces of your blockmates flashing on the huge projector?)

In-the-making; production photoshoot BTS.
In-the-making; production photoshoot BTS.
With the lead cast (left).
With the lead cast (left).

Third was our musical production for the subject Children’s Theater entitled “Princess Lavina and the Harlequin Frog” written by our own professor. It’s a typical rags to riches princess-kind of story, like Cinderella. I played the role of the princess herself, Lavina.

XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY

Okay, it was probably my most favorite this semester. Not because I played the title role but because it takes a lot of effort to play a character for children (and to dance a bit of ballet, ’cause I’m no ballerina) and, for some reasons, it took me a whole while to study and understand my character. I thought it would be so easy since we’re playing for kids but heck nooooo. I’d say never underestimate stage plays for children.

Lavina with Harlequin. XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY
Lavina with Harlequin.
XIPAT PHOTOGRAPHY

10169204_864868286904326_5171755913017418649_n

With Lavina's animal friends.
With Lavina’s animal friends.
With Fairy Floreli before her transformation.
With Fairy Floreli before her transformation. A little deets about my wardrobe shifting: I couldn’t go backstage to change costumes because sequences require a magical effect. Therefore, all my transformations were being done onstage and I and a single person were deliberately peeling me off while all animal characters surround me. I changed costumes twice and it was a very funny experience

553246_865287630195725_2159465014442010753_n

When she finally met her prince at the palace ball...
When she finally met her prince at the palace ball…

10471507_788506501202735_7609667246229846894_n

And... the evil princesses.
And… the evil princesses.

10486218_865506000173888_8032792115724943220_n

11046219_788541917865860_4014183556574065077_n

11068211_865508626840292_5147216486115680009_n

11070917_865509156840239_6749968656270896390_n

At the wedding when her parents finally show up, and the course was removed.
At the wedding when her parents finally show up, and the course was removed.
Closing with a very spontaneous and most unfashionable royal family hug. LOL.
Closing with a very spontaneous and most unfashionable royal family hug. LOL.

THE CATCH: I performed with a full-blown, three-day sore throat, common colds and cough.

THE EVEN GREATER CATCH: Not only did I perform with those, I have also lost my voice. So whenever I speak and sing, it took me a whole helluva effort. Musical arrangements also had to adjust and lower the keys of the songs I will sing in order for me to cope. Whenever I speak, I sound like a man struggling to find his female voice. It’s horrible. It’s madness. Frustration and fright overwhelmed me day and hours before the show. I bawled my eyes so many times and until now I have no clue as to how I finished the show successfully. It’s amazing. But mostly, I thank our musical and overall director for trusting me and God for giving me just enough strength to overcome the fears. I’m in awe beyond words.

Our batch may have gone through a lot of trials and misunderstanding, but after three years now and going for our fourth, they’re like a family to me. People say we can’t choose our family but in this case, I chose them the day I decided to study theater arts. We may be a collision of different personalities and all, but I’d pick them out of all the people in a heartbeat because with them, it’s less of a struggle to learn to breathe underwater.

And they live happily ever after. :)
And they live happily ever after. 🙂

 

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

