Oh, this bird.

This picture of our local eagle gets me every time since I wrote In the eye of a lone flyer and in fact made it my phone wallpaper.

image

I fell in love with those eyes, as they are the window to our soul. In this case they reflect both innocence and strength. Oh, aren’t they just beautiful and enchanting? And then questions started to flood my head. What did he think when he saw the camera taking his picture? Was he afraid? I wonder what he thought of camera. Did he even know it was a camera? Or did it ever occur to him to prey the cameraman… Many other silly things came into my mind and I decided he probably knows neither of them. Completely oblivious of human activities, but aware of what harm we could bring to his kind at the same time.

I fell in love with this particular big guy, but then, I always am a fan of animals in general. I love them. And when I say love I mean not the usual love you give to your friends, parents and even to yourself. It’s a love I could not put into words accurately because there’s no device that could measure the depths of love. Or is it just because love is simply immeasurable? I love them despite of the obvious difference: I’m a human, they’re animals. But that’s exactly the reason why I’m feeling this certain emotion. In some level, we’re different but at the same time we’re not at all — for God created both of us and he equally loved us, no matter what we are. And it just makes me sad that animals might not know or feel the care we give them, or the attempt to save them because there’s no way we can literally tell them that. We couldn’t just walk on to some specie and tell them, ‘hey I care about you and I love you’. No. Although we definitely could, it’s not like they speak and understand the way we talk. But I do believe that they are all smart and if we take actions to make them feel the extent of our love, they would somehow understand it their own way. Because after all, we are capable of knowing.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

1 thought on “Oh, this bird.”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

