Don’t you think…

The reasons behind why math geniuses dislike literature and literary people hate math are in relation to one other? I do. And I think I’ve found probable evidence as to why it is what it is. And that is me. I am the evidence.

Well… maybe.

I told you about my summer classes on General Statistics and how it is such a hard time for me. And lately, I’ve come up with a simple realization that maybe the reason why I hate math in general is that I hate following rules. I hate equations. I hate formulas. Because I think leading a life doesn’t have to have rules, equations and certain formulas. Compared to writing poetry and stories, we don’t, most of the time, have to follow rules. Most of the time we go against the flow. Most of the time, the unseen spirit and the God of muse are the ones leading us to writing what the deepest secrets in our hearts tell us.

Now I’m not generalizing math and literature freaks, it’s just my observation. Like the nature of balance. If someone’s good in math, they probably don’t do that well in Language and vice versa.

But perhaps I could be wrong though. If you have a different/similar view regarding the matter, comment below. I’d like to know your thoughts. πŸ˜‰

xo Danica Aquino

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

8 thoughts on “Don’t you think…”

  1. I remember once that a math profesor of mine said: “I love math because it leads to a concrete answer. I know that if I fallow the formula I will get one answer unlike literature where it’s very ambiguous and there could be different answers and they could be right and it was frustrating.” That made me love art more to be honest but he said something else that made me think about math differently even though I hate it. “Math is like a tresure map. You have to fallow it to find the tresure, the answer and that is a very satisfactory feeling.”

    Like

  2. Yes I kind of agree with you!! I believe the same lol…

    Although it’s a bit weird that being a student of literature, I love doing maths! And Physics had always been my favourite subject, apart from English!
    I behave against my own belief.Pretty weird ! Isn’t it? Haha…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nah! Believe me I’m not that great or anything! I just like both ways! πŸ™‚
      You won’t probably believe, but in my school the best writing for the school magazines , almost always used to come from the science students! And the same it’s in my uni too! :0

      Like

  3. There are the few lucky people who are talented in both the areas of Math and Literature. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green made think about math in a different way. It was full of equations and statistics, but kept me completely enticed. Math can help us sort out complexes like impending inclement weather or debt management. I’m not the biggest fan of Math, but I see its potential. Sometimes I feel like if I was just a little better at it, I could use it to change my life. Maybe I’m just a gambler.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are few who are talented in both areas, true. And for so many times I have wished I could be one. But I guess a man couldn’t always have the best of both worlds πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Literature follows rules too. Rules of spelling. Rules of grammar. Rules of structure. All art has rules and most of the leaders in each artistic field have generally spent a long time learning the rules before they can then break them.
    Additionally, in my experience scientific and mathematic people tend to be amazingly creative. Often in many fields. However, artistic types often throw their arms up in the air and reject maths and science as being too difficult. There’s more on this here ( http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Two_Cultures)
    At the end of the day the plural of anecdote is not data. You can’t extrapolate from yourself. Rules are everywhere and you clearly follow enough to make your blog posts intelligible.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yep. Often than not we have rules of spelling grammar, structure etc but humans have also come up with a postmodern style of writing. Oh and by the way, I don’t think ‘all art has rules’ , who would say that an enchanting abstract painting covering a toilet bowl isn’t a form of art? With math people, however, my opinion stated above is from my experience with my elementary, high school and college. Thanks for the link, I’ll read through it and thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

