Writing imagery

There are certain things we must remember to include when writing a story and one is the imagery we establish in our reader’s mind. I like books that tickle my imagination with the images they suggest in my head and also one of the reasons why I prefer reading books to watching movies. Books simply give us a huge room to help boost our imagination.

For the third time I’m attempting to write a novelette, hoping not to stop at chapter four: my usual writer’s block. And another thing I’m afraid of is that when I read the previous chapters I wrote they all give me the impression of lacking of imagery. I’m using first person perspective and postmodern slash stream of consciousness as a writing device. So far I’m not confusing myself and so I thought it won’t confuse readers as well. I’ll probably have it checked with my friends (and hopefully to some professors) in time to hear few feedbacks.

But for now, I’ll keep on writing, writing, writing, and a bunch of revising to get to my level of satisfaction. I just hope I get there.

– Danica Aquino

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

4 thoughts on “Writing imagery”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

