Diary Entry of a Fangirl

I suddenly felt the need to share this.

I used to follow and obsess over Zac Efron. Yes, that guy dancing around and singing in the three High School Musical movies. Well, “used to” is the word but I still sometimes attend to my hallucinating fantasies idolizing him up to these days but not on the same level I did before. I was so obsessed that I had fan accounts dedicated to him – Twitter, Instagram and Facebook β€” even set up a fan website. An actual web page that represents all his Filipino fans. I wasn’t an official “president” of a fan club, because there’s no such thing, but since not much show up around the web, I somehow claimed the throne for the website. Running it was undeniably fun, since it’s something I’m willing to do, but also a lot of hard work and time consuming. I handled it along with a friend, a Zac fan too, but she wouldn’t take responsibility when I told her I’m not going to run it anymore.

I’ve got a lot of thinking today and found myself missing that life I used to have. I didn’t deactivate all my fan accounts until November last year, when I thought the right time to move on to “adulthood”. I’m not saying running fan accounts are for kids, I just felt that that phase ran its course and I should drop out of it.

Overtime I realized the fun, golden and priceless experiences (involving in a rattling fight with countless trolls, crying over little things like seeing his newly released shirtless pictures online and staying up too late waiting for news coming out included) I had during those years β€” from idolizing him on the first HSM up to now counting 9 years. Also gained three friends slash co-fangirls and we still keep in touch.

If you’re interested, you could take a look at the page I made back in 2013, it still is floating around the web. I thought of leaving it alone and not deactivate ’cause I wanted something that will remind me of all my craziness and loyalty, like a souvenir. 😜

I still love you, unconditionally, Zac. And do my occasional squeal like a stuck pig whenever your name comes up to random conversations. And yes, I still set your pictures as my phone and laptop wallpaper.

Danica Aquino

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

13 thoughts on “Diary Entry of a Fangirl”

  1. You have good choice girl. He is so hot! I am literally fanning myself right now, as we speak. That face, that body.. *sigh*
    Why don’t we get to see such guys?
    Atleast I don’t. I can guarantee you that.

    Like

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

