When Coyotes Howl

Blabbering voices
I could not come to comprehend.
Shadows of vices
Floating around my haughty bed.

They constantly drag me down
As the moon and fog look up
When coyotes howl,
Candles melt aback.

Distracting fears to beauty of blind
But even blindness face merely distant—
Refusing to shed its only light,
Leaving me alone beyond of sight.

I then open my eyes
And struggle not to drown
Grasping air inside lungs
Only to choke further.

Stumbling my way
Afar from restlessness
But in defeat
Succumb to foolishness.

If night’s a war
To be a warrior I have chosen the least.
If rest’s a peace,
A holy grail I will never come at ease.

For they try and break in
Bring forth destruction
Upon nights of confusion
To the ol’ Miss Sara’s inn.

Danica Aquino

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

