Writing Challenge

Blair (http://peoplethingsandlife.wordpress.com) has nominated me to do the timed writing challenge. I hope you don’t mind me posting few days late since I badly needed more time on my thesis and internship application. Nevertheless, here it is!

The prompt:

What inspires you to write what you do? Whether it be positive/negative thoughts, fiction, life experiences, etc. Did something/someone in your life spark that desire or do you just have a passion for that genre? Also, have you ever wrote or ever wanted to write something that was completely different from what you usually write? If you did write it, how did it go? If you didn’t, why did you choose not to?

My take:

What inspires me to write what I do is the drive and force in me that want to preserve and share thoughts, emotions and memories, whether good or bad, I have and hope that by doing so could help, enlighten and inspire at least a single soul in any way possible.
I couldn’t really put my finger on whether someone in particular has inspired me to start writing. All I remember is that the enjoyment in writing sparked when I joined the newspaper during elementary. But, when I was a sophomore in high school, my English teacher encouraged me to write more essays for speech and competition purposes and I think that’s where the humblest trust in what I can do started. I’m also grateful for my teacher — not only was she helpful but she has also taught me a lot through the experiences we went through together.
As an amateur writer, and still learning my way through, like a rock star, I have always wanted to write a breakthrough piece — something that will shine and stand out among others. But I guess it hasn’t happened to me yet. I did write something out of my comfort zone, though. I remember thinking something like, I want to write a daring and thought provoking piece, and I came up with The Ritual. When I finished it, like a scientist with his first discovery, I thought it was “great!” But as time wore on and I look back and reread it, I thought it was just okay, not something so extraordinary and did not exceed my initial expectations. But hey, if Beethoven wrote his masterpiece during the most deafening days (no pun intended), someone’s got to start from something.

Time: 10 mins
Words: 289

What I came up with the prompt is something unquotable, as it is just my conversational way of expressing thoughts. However, I hope that anyone reading this right now can relate and find something useful from it 😀

The rules:
1. Open an MS Word Document.
2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you think you can beat.
-Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
3. Fill the word doc with as much words as you want. Once you start writing do not stop.
-Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (its only meant for you to reflect on your own control of
sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
-You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals. However, if you do, it would be best
4. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
5.Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers).

My nominees:
http://kickingstrokesassinwords.wordpress.com
http://coldchickensoup.wordpress.com
http://nicoleemerence.wordpress.com
http://thebibliophilediaries.wordpress.com
http://thestoryscrapbook.wordpress.com

Your topic:
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
If you will be given a second chance to live on earth after your first life, who or what will you be and how do you make the most out of it?

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

2 thoughts on “Writing Challenge”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

