The Good, The Better, The Best

So… How do I start this? A week later I’m still elated, I do not know for sure how to put the excitement into words but I’m gonna try.

Friday last week started off good, Fridays are no classes and I made sure my group mates and I could go to the library to further research on our thesis. We first went to the National Library of the Philippines (the original plan) only to find out that they aren’t still open for public (unless one would have a recommendation letter from the university) because the whole building is still under renovation. Boo! So we headed next to the Manila City library, which was an awful shame considering they are the city library yet they didn’t have enough reference. But we lingered around for about 3 hours and later went to the CCP (Cultural Center of the Philippines) library after lunch. CCP is a prestigious, glorious place where local theater plays and international musical tours take place. In other words it is a haven for a theater person like me; a sacred altar where I could fully unleash my weirdness without being judged.

When I was little I was never given a chance to enter its premises, not until college when I started watching performances there and becoming a frequent visitor to their library. Therefore technically my elation and wonders about the place started to wear a bit thin. Doesn’t make it less sacred, though. BUT, on Friday last week, it became more holy than it has ever been.

We arrived at the library expecting nothing but more data to be gathered in return, little did I know that it would be the same day I will be accepted for an internship position I applied to. Everything happened on a whim; all I know was that I was getting frustrated about having a hard time finding the book I was looking for and the next thing I know is that we (few of my classmates and I) were being oriented in a long table, assigning us the departments we’re going to work with. What even made it more surprising was that I was assigned as the assistant production manager for Tanghalang Pilipino (the resident theater company in CCP) on their next production this season. I mean an actual APM in an actual company for crying out loud. Only for an internship. I was expecting they would place me in the props and/or wardrobe department since I was only starting. I have never been a PM during the whole course of my stay in college because I suck at PR and budgeting money, and now I’m playing assistant. Come on!!!

First day of work was on Sunday last week, which was script reading. This was the first time I encountered a reading of first act only which took 5 hours straight. Whenever we, my classmates and I, would work on a reading it will only take about an hour or so depending on the number of acts. I was thinking, so this is how a real script reading is. Having experienced it, I felt very rich in knowledge I got from these professionals. It was really something.

First day was nerve wracking, but we somehow found a way to laugh at certain times, even clapping my hands in laughter, especially during the actors' explaining their character metaphors that ended up in a huge comedic show. Photography by Mr. Don Gordon Bell
First day was nerve wracking, but we somehow found a way to laugh at certain times, even clapping my hands in laughter, especially during the actors’ explaining their character metaphors that ended up in a huge comedic show. Photography by Mr. Don Gordon Bell

This isn’t a real job yet, I know, and I’m not earning anything except a valuable experience but this is the real world now. Not the typical work place of my comfort zone where I have the full control of my time. Someone is holding it for me now. This is the start of where I could build solid blocks for my future and I’m actually given the very fortunate opportunity to build it with Tanghalang Pilipino and CCP. Entering this certain phase of life means another work load, another sacrificing quality of my little and most precious hours left for sleeping, but there’s no way I’m going to let anyone, not even myself, down.

That’s pretty much all, and I’m looking forward to the coming exciting days. I hope you, lovely creatures, are having a great time as much as I do.

Thank you, as always, for reading. ‘Til next time!

– Danica

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

5 thoughts on “The Good, The Better, The Best”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

