The Fallen Light (Part 1)

It’s hard for me to convince myself that I am now walking on the same aisle where two indifferent yet passionate hearts collide and where dead proceed to their last prayer offering long before their corpse are forgotten feet under dirt. I hear my rampant heart thumping as though my chest was implanted by a deadly grenade. The air tastes both bitter and salty. Small beads of sweat starting to form on my forehead, I gently wipe it with the back of my hand. As I walk, I solemnly look up at the cross hanging on the far wall where Christ sacrificed his life for our sins. I wonder, will I still have the same burning fire in my soul just like his will of our salvation? That, I’m not certain. But if there’s one thing I know, I will never be the same again. God, forgive me.

I hear my footsteps as it softly lands on the divinely white tiled floor β€” tainting it as I walk on. My palms are sweaty yet frozen cold and I can barely feel it move. Halfway my heavy journey, I went to a stop. I am completely aware of my solitude, reflecting on the things I shouldn’t have done. I still have few moments to back out before it even gets worse. But I chose this.

I can feel the moist in my eyes and I see a cloudy vision but no tears are falling. My lungs are empty, I grasp for air but it’s only like shoving toxic oxygen in my system. Disoriented, I could not think properly. My mind shattered, broken into pieces as I reckon the recklessness of my doings which I am now extremely suffering from. What will I say? I’m sick of telling lies. But it seems that lies are the only company I can resort to. I am now a sculptured representation of utter hypocrisy. I do not deserve to light a candle that was once a gift from God. I do not deserve God.

At the far side of this sacred place stands a lone and dark room where mistakes are often made into a blessing and sins are formed into dust. I hold my breath as my decisions become sharp now. There’s no turning back.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

19 thoughts on “The Fallen Light (Part 1)”

  1. I don’t think that God (if there is one) gonna punish his children for any wrongdoing… Because if that was the case, terrorists like ISIS would have not been able to vandalise houses of millions of innocents.

    Like

    1. Hi. I understand what you’re trying to say. However, I’m not trying to imply that God would punish anyone, in this case my character in the story. But I neither said that he wouldn’t though, that’s why I wrote the story only from my character’s POV and only hers. It’s really up to the readers now what they think the story’s attempting to tell. Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

      Like

    2. Yes I do πŸ™‚ the reason why professors always remind students not to include religion in their thesis haha

      And with ISIS’ case, I’m afraid to further discuss it because it’s a very sensitive topic, not that I don’t care at all.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. There are and I really don’t want to join them anymore haha . and you may think it’s coward, but yes, it really is. I live in the Philippines and I’m not sure if you’re aware of the killings of our special action force commandos lately. For me there’s enough negativity in this world without my help. And I think I could help lessen it through my silent prayers.

      Like

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

