Paradox of Truth on Surface

A paradox of truth on surface,
We were but strangers,
Both constrained by time
And circumstances,
It was a tease
Never I imagined
After the passing years,
Surreal, as great a fantasy,
Allured, I caught your snare,
Unbounded by hesitation,
A promise of destiny,
Though never have I flown,
All it felt like flying,
Taking me high;
To places I have never been.

But as the fire dies
Wrapped in winter’s arms,
Soon you opened your hands,
And let mine slip through yours,
Watching over,
Loosing my grip; leaving me falling
Deep into the void you drilled,
Right where together we took flight.

Was it undeniably good, though,
Surely, too good,
I smiled of idiocy, but
Reluctant your eyes were from initial affection,
Then until haven’t I realized,
You were gone,
As fast as how it began,
I would care
To shed a tear or two,
But they too
Are precious to fool,
O, rather, how blessed I am! β€”
After all,
Spared and safe I was from evil.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

8 thoughts on “Paradox of Truth on Surface”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

