Change

Old friends, acquaintances.
I wonder,
What happened
Between me and you?
I hope you do well
With the life of your own.

They say time heals
But time also changes.
Changes you, me,
Emotions, ideas,
Personality and everything.

These changes
Scare me though.

Scared of meeting you
Once more.
Scared of what you
Might say,
How you would look
Analyzing the old
And the new me.

I’m afraid.
Afraid that we could
Never have the same blood
We shared
On the good old
Golden age.
Afraid that we
Might not have
The same tune of laugh.

The same bond
That once
Compatibly united us,
May not or may still be there.
The same friction
That once divided us,
I prefer to
Having nothing
At all.

But I miss you,
We may be too
Gray to do the same
Crap we claim
But I miss you.

And I want you to know
That you constantly
Cross my mind
For how many times
God only knows.

– Danica Aquino

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

48 thoughts on “Change”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

