Surprisingly Swift

I was never a hardcore Taylor Swift fan, although I can perfectly recall how I used to belt out Love Story when I was in high school. The day-to-day playlist used to include few of her tracks and how would I not? Those years were the starting point of her career and everyone else was jumping in on the bandwagon. I found her music not extraordinary nor super special, but country music is one of my staple jam.

But just like any ordinary musicians out there, there will come a time that her taste and sound would evolve; the inevitable process of growing as an artist. I wouldn’t blame no one for the continuity of oddly depressing new releases these past few years which makes me prefer to listen to the 80’s most of the time. Anyway, her 1989 album does break the usual Taylor Swift melodramatic-would-you-give-me-a-tissue-please country vibe.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on her. In fact I found myself killing the replay button of This Love, and pretty much most of her tracks, since I got the digital copy of her newest album. At first I was a bit skeptic as to how my ears received her new sound, just like how my senses couldn’t adjust to Bieber’s becoming-Chris-Brown songs. (I really can’t cope with it!) But look how I’m doing now: her music has become a drug I would listen to it repeatedly, any time on any day. Even I was surprised.

And then I came to pondering how dope, exciting and addicting it must being a Taylor Swift, or just like other artists today. What I mean is that they get the benefit of writing songs, which of course they love doing, and perform it during their concerts with more than hundred thousands of adoring fans watching. And the fact that they’re earning millions just by doing what they love. How dope is that?! Any aspiring slash hallucinating dreamer out there would rather sit on a couch and imagine themselves on the same spot as Taylor Swift.

As a novice writer, there wasn’t a day I never dreamed of becoming a successful author of my highly acclaimed imaginary book. It isn’t as exactly as how a career like Swift’s would rocket up to the sky. But the feeling, the ecstatic agitation of becoming who I want to be while cash is deliberately shoving its way in my pocket is priceless.

It’s priceless, baby.

Oh and by the way, I’ll be right back. I’m going to write my highly acclaimed imaginary book right now!

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

