Remains of Your Embrace

I stroll alone and sand tickle my feet,
The beads bring back the bliss I lost to feel,
The brine seeps in my airless lungs,
While moon smiles down from where it hung.

Nearer the shore I took a step closer,
Soft touch of waves glisten my skin brighter,
Peeling the years off love and suffer,
Wrap of your arms I would not hunger.

As I walk deeper in cold water,
My feet up to my thigh,
And hips up to my spine,
Deliciously covered,
The dark and chill of now only mattered.

If I’d have to stroke a hand
And feel the lone sea bedβ€”
Should it wash away remains of your embrace,
Deepest of salt I’d drown myself meeting with innocence.

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

13 thoughts on “Remains of Your Embrace”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

