Notes on November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Two weeks ago I celebrated my birthday and as an early present from a friend I got two books of my choice upon walking on the aisle of a bookstore: Colleen Hoover’s November 9 and Paulo Coelho’s By The River Piedra I Sat Down And Wept. Not knowing that the latter is a trilogy. I finished reading both on the same week and enjoyed their company very much. Looking forward to reading the next two parts of Coelho’s trilogy. So, I decided to post a little book review on Hoover’s November 9. Here are my notes:

* adjusting to hoovers writing technique since it was the first book of hers I read.
* wasn’t hard to read anyway.
* the book was a deep dive inside the characters’ minds and not much of description of setting, overall environment and even characters’ physical appearance. I would have liked more of it as much as characters’ POV.
* sometimes made me pause and: “wait, I think I might have already read this line somewhere on the previous pages here”. Was it redundancy of characters’ stream of consciousness?
* characters were very likeable and witty.
* love their witty exchange of conversation and funny interaction with each other. So natural and alluring. Made me feel like I had a VIP ticket to a very cozy and intimate relationship between Ben and Fallon.
* both were driven by raging hormones. Not that I’m complaining. It’s a new adult after all.
* sort of unrealistic — with the character’s love story set up. Like, who would keep up not seeing their partner for a whole damn 365 days without communication in between? But Hoover made me believe. And that’s how literature should work. It’s a fraction of humanity.
* first plot twist was expected.
* second plot twist blew me away. The writing was flawless, both character’s POV didn’t give a single hint as to how this revelation would turn out. Since then I’ve put the book down at least thrice. Thought I needed a water break for if I continue reading I’d be as wrecked as the heroine.
* cheesy, dramatic, tragic, funny, chilly. Name it, it’s there.
* Ben was literally the man who can’t be moved. I need my own real-life Ben. Seriously.

IMG_20151203_220036

Would I read another Hoover? Yes, of course. I’d be lying if I deny it. Though I think I must not stick into reading new adults if I want to expand my reading experience. I have a long list of TBR in various genres and I’m excited to read them all. I thought Hoover could be a guilty pleasure in between boring stuff.

My recommendation? Read it if you’re in for a roller coaster of emotion nearing a heart failure and if you want to feel like falling in love.

I’m giving November 9 4/5 pizza

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

2 thoughts on “Notes on November 9 by Colleen Hoover”

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

