Where Was I?

Where was I when troubles caged your soul?
A wild eagle captured to amuse
Pair of lifeless wings
Such beauty that cannot soar.

Where was I when you screamed aloud at the stage,
Proclaiming your new found joy?
While faceless vessels hail,
Cheer,
Send their blessing.
Or was I not there at all?

Have I looked deep within me,
So deep,
Only in me
And nothing more?

I see you,
I stare down a cliff,
A sea of knives
Flashing bright.
Yet much calm
I breathe no danger.
Much calm
I beam no fright.

I see you.
Then,
Nothing I see.
Did I blind myself,
So dark I lost along
The path we used to stroll?

I lost it,
Did I?
I didn’t lose myself,
That, I’m sure of.

Or did I?

I looked deep within me,
So deep,
Only in me
And nothing more.

I lost it.
I lost us.
There I was
Not at all.

Featured image courtesy of catholicbeerclub.com

Author: Danica Aquino

Tied the knot with performing arts since fourth grade; is an amateur writer (currently on her quest to writing her first novel); book and animal lover; always entranced by nature.

Have something to say? Please leave your comment below:

